Allow me to reintroduce myself – Jay-Z in concert – Seattle

Saturday October 17, 2009. One of those days I’ll tell my grand kids about and they won’t care or know who I’m talking about.

Jay Z came to Seattle for the first time in like 10 years. It was definitely worth the wait. A sold out Key Arena was really showing some love for the Brooklyn native and he reciprocated and then some.

I showed up a little late after hitting up a bar down the block from the Key since I didn’t know/care about who the opening acts were. Found out later Wale was the first (meh) and then NERD was the follow up (seen them like 3 times). Sucks to say because I really like Pharrell, but NERD is still living off the stuff they released in 2001. They started with what I assume was new stuff since I didn’t recognize it at all, then they started moving into the better known stuff like “Lapdance” and “Rock Star” and everybody started really digging it.

Then Jigga hit the stage. Everybody on their feet and it didn’t stop until he left the stage. He definitely emphasized the newer album for most of the songs, but probably only about 40-50% were Blueprint 3 tracks, he did a really good job of mixing in Hard Knock Life, Blueprint 1 and 2, some reasonable doubt, a good amount of Black Album (still my favorite), and a little American Gangster. I’m not sure how long he was out there since I wasn’t checking the time, but i think the show was around 1 hour 15 minutes or so?

My favorite concert ever. It was worth the wait for J to hit Seattle again, I just hope next time he doesn’t wait so long.

Leave a Reply

