Taking the highs with the lows

This weekend saw its share of great moments and some pretty crappy moments too.

Saturday could not have gone better, I was able to sleep in til 9, can you believe that? Crazy, I know. Well, then I made my way to the Boeing Classic held not too far from my place at TPC Snoqualmie Ridge, which is the nicest golf courses in my neck of the woods. It was a bunch of older players as this was the champions tour, but some names came through like Fuzzy Zoeller, Fred Couple and Mark O’Meara. Pretty cool to see some of these guys even if they’re not in their prime.

Here’s Fred Couples teeing off on the first hole.

Spent a good 3 hours or so there watching the players then headed back home to relax for a bit. Watched some NFL preseason then turned it off before I got so bored I fell asleep. After watching soccer so much lately, it becomes hard to forgive the amount of commercials and replays that the NFL has to fill the time between people actually playing a sport. It didn’t help that I was always watching 3rd string guys.

Then made my way down to Seattle for the Seattle Sounders v. Chicago Fire, and the return of Freddie Ljunberg. All was well as it was the most fired up I think Qwest field has been this year for the Sounders (and probably even for the Seahawks the past 3 years). We took the win over the Fire with a 91st minute goal by Fredy Montero. Super exciting game. Raspy voice for the rest of the weekend. Great way to end Saturday.

Then came Sunday. Started the day by not sleeping in this time. I was up to watch the Manchester City v. Sunderland game, I was sure we would get the win. Well, I wake up, try to start my computer as the game was not on TV, and…….nothing. The computer gets to the boot screen and blue screen. That means Windows death. FML. I try again. Nothing. Fine, I’ll go use the laptop and figure this out later.

I get to watch the second half, and City absolutely looks like crap. They are getting run by some no name midfield, giving lanes to the forward to make runs and take shots, and getting owned by some big but slow defenders. Great. Well, we can walk out with a tie right? No, 93rd minute, penalty kick. City gives up the first goal against this season on a PK in stoppage time. Great. Back to the dead computer.

Now, we all know how we have that stuff on the computer that we can’t replace, and we all say we should backup regularly, and we never do. That’s always been me. Crystal has been telling me to back this up for months, I always mean to get to it, but never do. Well, now that stuff might be lost. Cool. My hopes lie with the idea that Windows crashed, but my data is still safe. Now I just need to recover it by hooking it up to a different computer. First, we have a kids party to go to. So we go to the party, enjoy ourselves, things are looking up. I get the kit to hook up the hard drive to another computer, and sweet hey zeus, I can see the files, so I start saving them all. Spent the rest of Sunday afternoon watching movies, playing games and saving files. Nice way to end the day.

So a sports nerd weekend, kiddie bdays, FML moments, and victory from the jaws of windows crashing.

Leave a Reply

